Texas softball coach Mike White apologizes for the vulgar gesture

Texas softball coach Mike White apologizes for the vulgar gesture

After his team’s 6-1 loss to Oklahoma State in the semifinals of the Big 12 Tournament on Friday at USA Softball Hall of Fame Stadium, Texas softball coach Mike White was ejected and made an obscene gesture before fleeing the field.

“Out of frustration, I did something that I regret while leaving the field of play, and I hope that my apologies will be accepted for my unusual indiscretion,” the apology continued, mentioning the Big 12 Conference, as well as the teams from Oklahoma State and Texas.

Following his ejection, White issued a written statement apologising for raising his middle finger at the umpires after an extended disagreement over a ruling that was overturned by video review, allowing Oklahoma State to score a run.

Today was certainly not the right way to conduct oneself during softball competition. I am an intense competitor by nature, and in the heat of the moment I made a rash decision which I truly regret.”

White was unhappy after a bizarre bottom of the first inning when two video reviews overturned umpires’ calls to allow OSU to score two runs.

The action occurred while White was still on the field and it was captured by ESPN+ cameras during the broadcast. It is possible that White could be in line for some kind of reprimand from the conference office, though no such announcements were made Friday.

After OSU’s Miranda Elish hit a grounder to Texas pitcher Hailey Dolcini, she caught OSU’s Chelsea Alexander in a rundown between third base and home plate. As Alexander sprinted for home, she was tagged out by Texas catcher Mary Iakopo as the two collided in the basepath a few feet in front of the plate.The play went to review, which verified obstruction by Iakopo. That gave OSU a 1-0 lead with one out.

OSU’s Sydney Pennington followed with a flyout to center field. Chyenne Factor tagged from third base, but Elish did not tag up at second. The throw home was too late to get Factor, but Texas got the ball back to second base to double off Elish for the final out of the inning.

Initially, umpires ruled that Factor’s run didn’t count, but after an argument from OSU coach Kenny Gajewski, the call went to video review. It was confirmed that Factor scored before Elish was recorded out at second base, giving OSU a 2-0 lead. “That’s a timing play,” said Sally Walker, the Big 12 softball umpire coordinator. “They didn’t see when she crossed the plate, and whether that occurred before the out at second base. That’s something we have to be sure of, and it’s also a reviewable call, so no need to try to speculate.”

Check the latest news about World news section for best information.

The best source of news - newszf.com
Logo
Compare items
  • Total (0)
Compare
0